misterdoctorbeckymark2

views expressed here are my own!

Is free speech feasible?

Leave a comment

Here is the age old question I have been asking myself over and over again and I decided I’ve been sitting on the fence for far too long!

So here goes:

What I think about Free Speech!

Of course we should have Free speech to some extent! If I want to say David Cameron is an idiot I want to be able to do that without having to worry about being prosecuted!

However there is a big difference between calling your PM an idiot or even more graphic a C*** and spouting inexcusable abuse and hatred against someone who has a different skin color than you! My other half saw the offending tweet on twitter and she said it was genuinely disgusting. Therefore I completely understand and am in favour of that person having been arrested!

The problem you have with Free Speech in its entirety is that you cannot prohibit anyone from saying what they want!

A friend of mine is of the opinion that the US government is responsible for 9/11! I don’t agree with that, but should we prosecute him for what he believes in, I don’t think so!

A fundamentalist is openly preaching that the time for Jihad has come and that all western infidels deserve to die! Now with total free speech you wouldnt be able to do anything about that! You might argue that you still can’t do anything about it? Like in the most recent case of this kind. Well there is a difference here! No being able to deport someone because of his human rights and someone letting spout abuse because of free speech are totally different!

In the end it all comes down to this:

Everybody should know the difference between harmless banter, using reasonable bad language and enciting racial hatred or spouting racial abuse!

In my opinion the police should be within their rights to question you and maybe even book you if you behaved like a real nob! We haven’t got slander & liable laws for fun you know!

So to recap:

Free speech is theoretically a brilliant idea, but in reality it would be awful! We need to know where Free Speech ends and where verbal & written abuse starts!

I might just give you my opinion on Human rights as well, I reckon quite a few people won’t like that, but hey that’s a subject for another day and another blog!

Author: SillyDaddy

SAHD of twin boys, who just started year 1. Bring on the rollercoaster that is school life!

Leave a Reply

