misterdoctorbeckymark2

views expressed here are my own!

LAB book review / recommendation

1 Comment

Bare with me here, haven’t actually written a review nor a recommendation for a book before. I just thought I’d share my favourite books with the wonderful people who work on & read the LAB showcase!

So here goes:

a kiss of shadows is book 1 in the ‘Merry Gentry’ series written by laurell k Hamilton ( @LKhamilton ). This book finds the fairie princess Meredith NicEssus hiding among the population of LA where she assumed the name Merry Gentry and works in a detective agency. There had been numerous attempts to kill her at the fairy courts. She is the niece of Andais the Queen of Air and Darkness, ruler of the Unseelie court.

She and her colleagues are investigating a serious breach of one of the laws which make it possible for the fairy to exist in the realms of the USA. During this investigation her secret is discovered and chaos, intrigues, attempted murder and serious magic follow.

I hope I did the book justice with this little synopsis, well it’s the first synopsis I have written.

The order in which the books in this series have been publish I added underneath. If you like a good story, wonderful characterisation, fantasy, magic, fairies and sex thrown in for good measure then you really should read this book series from start to finish!
A Kiss of Shadows (2000)
A Caress of Twilight (2002)
Seduced by Moonlight (2004)
A Stroke of Midnight (2005)
Mistral’s Kiss (2006)
A Lick of Frost (2007)
Swallowing Darkness (2008)
Divine Misdemeanors (Dec 2009)

Here you can find the authors website and lots of information on the merry gentry series but also information on her other book series Anita Blake: @lkhamilton

Author: SillyDaddy

SAHD of twin boys, who just started year 1. Bring on the rollercoaster that is school life!

One thought on “LAB book review / recommendation

  1. Hiya! I’m visiting from the LAB showcase. I was introduced to the author via the Anita Blake series but have to confess, I stopped reading after about book 10, or something like this, as I got fed up of the books having degenerated into – oooh, who will Anita feel guilty about having sex with this time – and I much preferred it when she was being action hero Anita! I read one of the Merry Gentry books a few years ago but made the fatal mistake of (accidentally) picking one from the middle of the series, rather than the first, so I left it at that and never tried anymore. Have you read Kim Harrison’s The Hollows Series – the first is Dead Witch Walking? If you haven’t, I suspect you’d really enjoy them x

Leave a Reply

