misterdoctorbeckymark2

views expressed here are my own!

Role models and the opposite

1 Comment

Thanks to the lovely motherventing & her post about role models I want to tell you a bit about my rolemodels & the exact opposite.

There are certain types of people I could never use as rolemodels in a positive sense. Certain models, artists & tv personalities can be so utterly vaccuous and they still get loads of admirers & people thinking they should want to be like them. That is so wrong it’s untrue.

Just take that bad excuse for a wannabe artist Frankie Cocozza, his only claim to fame is the dullest, most rigged talent contest I’ve ever heard off and his moronic behaviour on and off camera! Having something like him on the telly and in the news sends completely the wrong message to the kids of today.

But enough about him and this poor excuse for a talent show called X-factor

In the immortal words of Peter Griffin:You know what really grinds my gears?

Ed milliband accusing the Tories of collusion with those rich city bankers. Well that on its own could be true, but it was the way he said it he referred to them as ‘all you millionaires stick together’ in his place I wouldn’t be using phrases like that, he is a bloody rich boy himself, he went to the elite schools himself. So in his place I’d be pretty nervous to make a certain group of people out to be the bad guys, he is one of them!                                                         But i digress, let’s get back to role models! As the wonderful motherventing was talking about fictional role models i’ll add some of mine as well!

First of let’s talk about ‘breakfast club’! First time I saw that movie I instantly loved it! I identified very much with the shy geeky kid. Estevez’s character would have been the sort of guy who’d have bullied me, the bad boy wouldn’t have acknowledged my existance at all. The most interesting character still was the weird, quiet girl.

Paying homage to my German upbringing I have to mention my favourite German movie from the 80’s die einsteiger it is just amazing fun from start to finish!

Other fictional characters I really loved and admired were rutger hauer in blade runner!

Another of my favourites is ferris bueller, I identified more with his friend, but was totally taken with mathew’s portrayal of ferris! I totally loved & adored ‘stand by me’ will wheatons portrayal of gordie lachance was one exceptional piece of acting. Back then I wished I had friends like these. After that there were loads of brilliant movies which I thoroughly enjoyed and thought they were amazing and some of them even groundbreaking. I was too young to have seen mad max when it first came out, but when I finally watched it one night on tv I thought it was the coolest thing ever! I still liked 2 & 3 but i’ll always remember the first time I saw mad max.

There are hundreds more I could list here, ie brad pitt in fight club, Edward Norton in American History X but I don’t want to bore you too much!

Just one more movie character has to be mentioned as this was just the best piece of acting by liam neeson I’ve ever seen, which was greatly helped by the great actor Ben kingsley. Schindlers list was one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.

Now back to reality! I do have immense respect for my friend Nicola, she is not just a brilliantly perfect human beeing,also a great mother, great friend and how she manages to juggle her job, her studies, her two kids, her other half & still having time to meet up with friends on a regular basis is just amazing! Then there is tanya who I haven’t even met yet (which ought be remedied sooner rather than later). From her tweets & blogs she seems to be just always on the go, never really sits still. Her work for victims support, her charity work, her warm words she always has for her kids, plus the work she does from home or on the road is just great.

There are a couple more people who really inspire me!

First up is my Becky (@drbecky74) the stuff she has been through in her 30something years is quite remarkable! She was immensely lucky to have survived a gall bladder operation that went catastrophicly wrong, she decided to go for a gastric bypass surgery when it was very new to this country & decided to become a doctor on top of that, having to work 2 jobs besides studying medicine. The stories I have heard about her medical student & house officer days are absolutely remarkable!

Let’s look a bit closer at what has been happening more recently: Leaving an average marriage after 11 years & finding love in the most unlikely place. Then going through IVF, having a major family emergency (her dad being very ill but more on that later), having triplets (Richard,Edward & Alexander), us having to let our first born Richard go because it was the right thing to do. Then Alex having emergency bowel surgery, which was a bit like sewing together two pieces of spaghetti, without leakage, that’s how small he still was when this happened. The two of them still have their ups and downs, but we’ll face them together head on!

The other person I admire & have great respect for is my future dad in law David Plumb. He had an idea in the early 60’s and managed to turn that idea in a successful business that is still very much going today, nowadays being run by his son & daughter. Also having to recover from a great personal tragedy, and never letting it affect the relationship with his children. I also have a huge amount of respect and adoration for what he has been through more recently. He first had to have a partial hip replacement, which we all know can make life a little difficult at times. Then he went on a cruise of the Med with his wife and suffered a leaking abdominal aneurism, which according to my Becky the doctor has a survival rate of 10% which incidentally is probably where she got her survivor instinct from? David was fortunate enough that the cruise ship he was on was sailing past Sicily at the time, and it just so happened that one of the best hospitals in Europe for this type of ermergency was within easy reach. So he was rushed into this hospital and weeks later was able to come home! We are all immensely greatful for this bit of good fortune. Talking about survivor instinct, I’m sure the fact that we were expecting his first grandchildren at the time, triplets on top of that, helped him to pull through all this.

All this obviously took its toll on him, but now that our boys are home and we bring them over on a regular basis it has totally transformed him & his wife. I’d say it knocked 10 years of their lives so to speak. All the problems of being at the autumn of their lives seem to have become easier to manage as they have one more reason to keep going.

That is why I am immensely proud & thankful to be part of this wonderful family!

Thank you Becky,David,Edna,Kathy,Nigel,Paul & Emma and thank you Richard, Edward & Alexander too.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             ‘

Author: SillyDaddy

SAHD of twin boys, who just started year 1. Bring on the rollercoaster that is school life!

One thought on “Role models and the opposite

  1. Wow! You put my list to shame! I totally get what you mean about pop stars and politicians, I find it ridiculous that people look up to them. Your role models are really admirable. And your family sounds amazing. You are very lucky to have them in your life 🙂

Leave a Reply

