misterdoctorbeckymark2

views expressed here are my own!

My dad & other things!

1 Comment

So my dad has come over from Germany! I picked him up Tuesday afternoon from gatwick. First thing that was interesting was he actually commended me on my driving. I was quite prepared to hear some derogatory remark about it. When we arrived back home it was also nice to see that he seemed to behave differently from as I remember? Probably has something to do with the fact that he is at our place rather than at his home & the grandchildren usually make the grandparents act slightly differently anyways.

The first evening went over without any problems & there wasn’t really anything that I thought I shouldn’t translate which was good.

Yesterday we didn’t get up till midday as the boys had been a bit fractious again through the night. So we had lunch the way my dad is used to have breakfast. we went to meet Dr B’s parents later that afternoon & that went reasonably well too. He seemed to have made a reasonably good impression.

For dinner we went to the local ‘hungry horse’ pub. He seemed a bit surprised by the amount of finger food one could order for starters. To drink he asked for guiness, I hadnt actually seem him drink guiness before and was a little surprised, he even tried some IPA and I remember years ago when I just moved to England & came back to visit the parents he’d say stuff like ale was like warm that he tried once and didn’t like & preferred good old lager & he had something to say about guiness as well. So for him to try those & actually state he liked them was a bit new for me! The main course he seemed genuinely surprised by the size of the portion. As wednesdays is ‘curry & a pint night’ I had what they called a beef mangalore. It’s reasonably spicy & dad actually tried it & said it wasnt actually that bad although he always claimed to have a slight problem with hot & spicy food. So from his opinion of that curry we decided to take him to a proper Indian restaurant on Friday.

The main thing we feel quite bad about is that we’ve had a couple bad nights with the boys & rather stay in bed snoozing till whenever which isn’t fair on him now, is it?

First he commends me on my driving and tonight he said that he is speechless how good a daddy I am! It’s getting increasingly more interesting what he is saying. It’s hard to think that this is the same man I didn’t like much at all when I was younger?

Well earlier we went to Lidl to get a few bits & pieces, now we’re about to have dinner.

Talking about dinner, we’ll be going out to dinner tomorrow night & we were thinking of Indian! What would you guys recommend for someone who has never had curry before? I’d be inclined to suggest a balti or something similar, no korma that is just silly!

So far he has pleasantly surprised me, let’s see what the next few days bring?

We had lamb cataplana for dinner tonight with some veggie cous cous which was just delicious, thanks to my lovely other half Dr B.

Now it is like quarter past 4 Friday morning Alex & mummy are fast asleep & Eddie is just dozing off as I write this, which means I ought to try & get some more sleep myself!

Author: SillyDaddy

SAHD of twin boys, who just started year 1. Bring on the rollercoaster that is school life!

One thought on “My dad & other things!

  1. Sounds like a wonderful visit!

    Karin @ Cafe Bebe

Leave a Reply

